Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board decides on the principles of the foundation’s work, directorate appointments (President and Secretary General), the planned annual budget and mid-term financial planning. It establishes the foundation’s priorities and provides the foundation with sources of professional advice in numerous areas.

Armin Laschet

Minister President of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia

Chair of the Supervisory Board

Isabel Pfeiffer-Poensgen

Minister for Culture and Sciences of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia

Vice-Chair of the Supervisory Board

Dr. Inke Arns

Director Hartware Medienkunstverein

Gerhart Baum 

Former Federal Minister, Lawyer

Dr. Günther J. Bergmann

Member of State Parliament

Andreas Bialas

Member of State Parliament

Simone Brand

Anke Brunn

Former State Minister

Ilse Brusis

Former State Minister

Tom Buhrow

Director, Westdeutscher Rundfunk Cologne

Lorenz Deutsch


Siegmund Ehrmann

Ernst Gerlach

Gabriela Grillo 

Managing Partner, Wilhelm Grillo Handesgesellschaft mbH

Chair of Supervisory Board, Grillo-Werke AG

Stefan Hilterhaus

Artistic Director and Executive Director, PACT Zollverein

Prof. Dr. Gottfried Honnefelder

Member of Board of Trustees for the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade

Former Principal of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association

Oliver Keymis

Member of State Parliament

Vice President of North Rhine-Westphalia State Parliament

Norbert Meesters

Prof. Dr.  Pia Müller-Tamm

Director Staatliche Kunsthalle Karlsruhe

Prof. Klaus Schäfer

Former State Secretary

Prof. Dr. Oliver Scheytt

Company Director „Kulturexperten“

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Schweeger

Director Akademie für Darstellende Kunst Baden-Württemberg

Manfred Speck 

Former State Secretary

Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Sternberg

President of the central committee of the German Catholics

Dr. Jörg Twenhöven 

Former President of Local Government

Christiane Underberg 


Gregor Zöllig

Artistic Director, Tanztheater und Chefchoreograf Staatstheater Braunschweig